Unitree Dex5-S Review: Specs, Price and Verdict
Unitree's Dex5-S hand starts at $6,500 with 22 degrees of freedom, but buyers still need a full data sheet, interface details and safety terms.
This Unitree Dex5-S review reaches a narrow verdict: the announced $6,500 starting price makes the new hand worth watching, but the public record is too thin for an evidence-based production purchase. Unitree announced the hand on September 21, describing a human-hand-size design with 22 degrees of freedom, backdrivability at all 22 joints and impact-torque protection at each joint.[1]
This is a documentary review, not a hands-on test. Unitree's two launch posts give a price and a short feature list. They do not provide a data sheet, payload, mass, operating voltage, controller interface, repeatability result, ingress rating, safety certification, warranty or delivery schedule. Those omissions matter more than the extra joints when a team has to integrate a hand onto a real robot.
Our view: Dex5-S has an attractive announced price, but a component without published integration and durability data is a lab evaluation candidate, not a finished buying decision.
What are the Unitree Dex5-S specs?
Unitree's public answer is brief. It states that Dex5-S has 22 degrees of freedom, uses a 1:1 human-hand-size form, supports smooth backdrivability in all 22 joints and gives every joint limit impact-torque protection.[1] The announcement reviewed here does not list dimensions, mass, load case or communication details.
| Specification | Published value | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|
| Degrees of freedom | 22 | Unitree launch announcement. |
| Form factor | “1:1 Real-Hand Size” | Unitree marketing description; no dimensions supplied. |
| Joint behavior | Smooth backdrivability at all 22 joints | Unitree claim; no force-control test published. |
| Joint protection | Limit impact-torque protection at each joint | Unitree claim; no threshold or test method published. |
| Starting price | $6,500 before tax and shipping | Unitree launch announcement. |
| Payload, grip force and repeatability | Not published in reviewed launch material | Unknown. |
| Interfaces, voltage and software support | Not published in reviewed launch material | Unknown. |
| Safety certification and environmental rating | Not published in reviewed launch material | Unknown. |
Specs: Unitree announcements and product page, checked September 22, 2026.[1]
The gap is easiest to see beside Unitree's existing Dex5-1 product page. That page lists 20 degrees of freedom, 1,100 g mass, 10 N fingertip strength, USB 2.0, a 24 V to 60 V working-voltage range and named load-test conditions.[3] It does not establish that Dex5-S shares any of those figures. It does show the level of documentation a buyer should expect before treating a new hand as interchangeable with an earlier model.
For teams building a broader stack, our ROS 2 Lyrical vs Jazzy guide covers one software decision that should be settled alongside the vendor's actual SDK and interface documents.
How much does Unitree Dex5-S cost?
Unitree's answer is $6,500 and up, with tax and shipping excluded.[2] That is an announced starting price, not an installed system cost. The launch material does not say whether it covers one hand, a controller, cable harness, mounting hardware, software access, support or a spare-parts package.
A 40 to 60 word buying answer follows: compare Dex5-S only after Unitree provides an itemized quote. The published entry price is useful for a first screen, yet it cannot tell a buyer the cost of a working arm assembly, integration time, replacement parts or field support. Those are material costs for a dexterous end effector.
Ask for the exact configuration, controller and cable requirements, a list of included software, lead time, warranty coverage and paid support before comparing the offer with another hand. The Jetson Thor vs AGX Orin guide is relevant when an integration also needs an external compute choice, although it does not establish Dex5-S compatibility.
Is Dex5-S ready for a production robot?
No public evidence reviewed here establishes production readiness. Unitree's announcement describes component features, rather than a completed deployment, reliability test or safety conformity result.[1] Backdrivability and impact-torque protection may be useful design choices, but they do not substitute for an application-level risk assessment, safeguarding design or validated stop behavior.
A 40 to 60 word safety answer follows: keep the component and the application separate. A hand can have useful mechanical protection while its arm, tool, controller and workcell still create hazards. Buyers should obtain the product's declarations and integration documentation, then assess the completed system for its intended task. Our cobot safety standards guide explains why the robot's label alone does not approve a workcell.
The public reliability case remains unresolved. The reviewed material has no published cycle count, service interval, field failure record or spare-parts commitment. That does not mean the hand will fail. It means there is no public basis to price downtime risk.
*Scores are Robotsider editorial calls based on the cited documents, not measurements. The low scores reflect missing published information, not a claim that the product performs poorly.*
Pros
- Unitree states 22 degrees of freedom in a human-hand-size form.
- The announced $6,500 starting price may lower the cost of an evaluation.
- Unitree says all 22 joints support smooth backdrivability.
Cons
- The reviewed launch material has no public Dex5-S data sheet.
- Payload, force, interfaces and delivery timing remain unverified.
- No public reliability, safety certification or service terms support a production buying case.
Unitree Dex5-S vs Dex5-1: what changed?
The documented comparison is small. Dex5-S adds two stated degrees of freedom over the 20-degree-of-freedom Dex5-1, and Unitree's launch posts say every Dex5-S joint is backdrivable.[1] The older Dex5-1 page supplies far more technical detail, including five fingers that a user can replace separately and 94 tactile sensors, but Unitree has not said that Dex5-S retains either feature.[3]
| Decision point | Dex5-S | Dex5-1 |
|---|---|---|
| Published degrees of freedom | 22 | 20, including 16 active plus 4 passive. |
| Published price | From $6,500 before tax and shipping | Not stated on the reviewed product page. |
| Published mass | Not stated | 1,100 g. |
| Published interface | Not stated | USB 2.0. |
| Published fingertip strength | Not stated | 10 N. |
| Published tactile sensors | Not stated | 94 per hand. |
| Evidence position | New launch announcement with limited specifications | Detailed product page. |
Comparison source: Unitree launch announcement and Dex5-1 product page, checked September 22, 2026.[1][3]
The practical choice is not “more degrees of freedom wins.” Choose Dex5-S only after Unitree confirms its mechanical interface, controller, SDK, sensing configuration and support terms for the intended robot. Choose an already documented alternative if a project cannot absorb unknown integration effort.
Is Unitree Dex5-S worth buying?
Dex5-S is worth shortlisting for a controlled research evaluation, not for an immediate production rollout. The price and stated joint count make the launch notable, but buyers still lack the documents needed to compare usable force, accuracy, wiring, software, safety and lifetime cost.[1]
Set acceptance tests before placing an order. A useful evaluation should verify the exact grasp set, required cycle time, contact behavior, cable routing, controller recovery after a fault and parts replacement procedure. Until Unitree publishes those details or delivers them in a quote package, the prudent verdict remains wait and validate.
Unitree Dex5-S: price, specs and buying questions
How much does the Unitree Dex5-S cost?
Unitree announced a starting price of $6,500, excluding tax and shipping. The announcement does not identify the included controller, cables, software, support or spare parts, so request an itemized quote.
What are the main Unitree Dex5-S specs?
Unitree states that Dex5-S has 22 degrees of freedom, a human-hand-size form, smooth backdrivability at every joint and limit impact-torque protection. The reviewed launch material does not state payload, grip force, mass, dimensions or interfaces.
Is Dex5-S ready for factory use?
The reviewed public launch material does not establish that. It includes no independent task result, reliability data, safety certification, service terms or completed deployment record. Validate the full robot and workcell for the intended task.
How does Dex5-S compare with Dex5-1?
Dex5-S has an announced 22 degrees of freedom versus Dex5-1's published 20. Dex5-1 has a more detailed public specification, but Unitree has not confirmed that Dex5-S shares its mass, interface, tactile sensing or force figures.
Sources
- https://www.facebook.com/unitreerobot/posts/1067763642839353/
- https://x.com/UnitreeRobotics/status/2101996861259395234
- https://www.unitree.com/mobile/Dex5-1