ROBOTSIDER
Reviews · 2026-09-14 · Robotsider

KUKA KMF 1500P-CB Review: Specs and Verdict

This documentary KUKA KMF 1500P-CB review weighs a 1,500 kg payload and 3 m lift against the gaps in its public data.

The KMF 1500P-CB tackles mixed load handling, accepting open pallets, closed pallets and containers without requiring access beneath every transfer station. Its headline figures are a 1,500 kg payload and 3 m lift, but KUKA does not publish speed, runtime, dimensions or price on the reviewed pages.[1]

This is a documentary review, not a hands-on test. We read KUKA's launch notice and product page, then checked its public detail against MiR's published data. Deliveries are due to start in December 2026, so delivered units have no public duty cycle or service record yet.

Orange KUKA KMF 1500P-CB autonomous counterbalance forklift carrying a pallet in a warehouse
The KMF 1500P-CB carries its load in front of the chassis. This KUKA photograph shows the layout, not an independent test. Source: KUKA, 10 September 2026.

What are the KMF 1500P-CB specs?

KUKA rates the truck for 1,500 kg and a 3 m lift, and says it can detect and position open pallets, closed pallets and containers, with forks that enter enclosed transfer points such as roller conveyors.[1] That ability separates this counterbalance model from low-lift pallet movers. An LFP battery supplies power through conductive charging, and KUKA lists SLAM navigation, lidar and 360 degree monitoring for its forklift range.[2]

*Table summary: KMF 1500P-CB figures and the limits of the public evidence. Sources: KUKA, retrieved 12 September 2026.*

SpecificationPublished valueEvidence status
Vehicle typeAutonomous counterbalance forklift.Manufacturer description.
Rated payload1,500 kg.No public test method.
Maximum lift height3 m.No public load chart.
Supported loadsOpen pallets, closed pallets and containers.Exact formats and tolerances are not public.
Navigation and sensorsSLAM, lidar, other sensors and 360 degree monitoring.KUKA gives no sensor count or field dimensions.
Battery and chargingLFP battery with conductive charging.Capacity, loaded runtime and charge time are not public.
Fleet linkKUKA.AMR software and a VDA 5050 interface.KUKA does not state the VDA 5050 version.
Ordering and deliveryOrders from September 2026; deliveries due from December 2026.The delivery date is KUKA's forecast.
PriceNot published on the reviewed pages.A project quote is required.

Our view: Counterbalance geometry is the KMF 1500P-CB's best buying argument. Its unpublished operating envelope is the main weakness.

Why does the counterbalance design matter?

The KMF carries its load ahead of the chassis, where the MiR1200 has a pallet jack layout instead. KUKA says the KMF can handle closed pallets and collect loads at enclosed stations, which may save a site from modifying roller conveyors or other transfer points.[1] A survey is still necessary: KUKA gives no vehicle width, turning radius, required aisle width or pallet tolerances on the reviewed pages. The 3 m lift reaches jobs that a low-lift pallet mover cannot, but buyers still need a load chart that states capacity at each required height and load center.

What does KUKA disclose about software and safety?

The forklift uses KUKA.AMR software and can connect to other fleet managers through VDA 5050, with central task assignment, fleet visibility and dynamic route changes.[2] That is enough for initial screening, but not commissioning: the pages give no VDA 5050 version, network requirements or failover behavior.

KUKA lists obstacle sensing, 360 degree monitoring, collision-avoidance features and visual and audible warnings, but the reviewed pages name no safety standard or scanner model, and omit protective field geometry and maximum loaded stopping distance.[2] Our legged robot safety standards guide explains where ISO 3691-4 fits for driverless industrial trucks like this one.

Each site must assess risks around pedestrians, blind corners, damaged pallets and overhanging loads. A feature list cannot prove safe use at that site.

KMF 1500P-CB vs MiR1200 Pallet Jack

The MiR1200 is a useful comparator because it moves pallets and has detailed public data, though it cannot substitute for every KMF task. MiR rates its pallet jack for 1,200 kg and a 1.14 m fork lift, states a 1.5 m/s maximum speed and up to 10 hours of active use at maximum payload, and specifies IP52 and indoor use on clean, dry floors.[3] MiR also names safety standards and counts its sensors, where KUKA gives no equivalent KMF figures on the pages reviewed here.

*Table summary: The KMF offers more lift and broader load access. MiR publishes more operating data. Sources: KUKA and Mobile Industrial Robots, retrieved 12 September 2026.*

Decision pointKUKA KMF 1500P-CBMiR1200 Pallet Jack
Handling layoutCounterbalance truck for open and closed pallets, containers and enclosed transfer points.Pallet jack for driverless transport of heavy loads.
Maximum payload1,500 kg.1,200 kg.
Maximum fork lift3 m.1.14 m.
Published maximum speedNot stated on reviewed pages.1.5 m/s.
Published loaded runtimeNot stated on reviewed pages.Up to 10 hours.
Stated environmentNo temperature, floor or ingress rating on reviewed pages.Indoor use, clean and dry floor, IP52, with a stated temperature range.
Safety detailFeature list without named standards on reviewed pages.Named standards, three safety scanners, five 3D cameras, 3D lidar and one ultrasonic pallet sensor.
PriceNot public on reviewed pages.Not public on the cited page.

Choose the KMF route if the job needs a 3 m lift, closed pallets or enclosed conveyor interfaces. Put the MiR1200 on the bid list when 1,200 kg and 1.14 m cover the job; its public data makes early screening easier.

Evidence scorecard

Capability and specs6/10
Task data2/10
Reliability and service2/10
Safety disclosure3/10
Price clarity1/10
Software detail5/10

*These are Robotsider editorial scores, not test results. Low marks reflect missing price, speed, runtime, dimensions, safety detail and field reliability data.*

Pros

  • Handles open pallets, closed pallets and enclosed transfer points.
  • Combines a 1,500 kg payload with a 3 m lift.
  • States support for connecting another fleet manager through VDA 5050.

Cons

  • KUKA does not publish price or total cost on the reviewed pages.
  • Public data omits speed, runtime, dimensions and operating limits.
  • The reviewed pages name no safety standards and give no independent task results.

Is the KMF 1500P-CB worth buying?

Yes, but only as a candidate for a controlled site trial. Its counterbalance layout fits jobs that combine open pallets, closed pallets and enclosed stations. A paper comparison cannot support an order: ask KUKA for price, dimensions, speed, battery data, the load chart and the safety file, and require the interface version, warranty terms and an agreed site test, none of which appears in the reviewed material.[1]

Test the heaviest loads and worst pallets on the tightest routes, including the busiest pedestrian crossings. KUKA expects deliveries to begin in December 2026; until operators publish duty cycle and service evidence, our verdict is simple: shortlist it, test it, then negotiate.

KUKA KMF 1500P-CB questions

What is the KUKA KMF 1500P-CB?

It is an autonomous counterbalance forklift KUKA rates for a 1,500 kg payload and a 3 m lift. It handles open pallets, closed pallets and containers and can collect loads at enclosed transfer points such as roller conveyors. Deliveries are due to start in December 2026.

How much does the KMF 1500P-CB cost?

KUKA does not publish a price on the reviewed pages, so a project quote is required. Ask for price, dimensions, speed, battery data, the load chart and the safety file before ordering.

KMF 1500P-CB vs MiR1200: which should I shortlist?

Choose the KMF route when the job needs a 3 m lift, closed pallets or enclosed conveyor interfaces. The MiR1200 fits when 1,200 kg and a 1.14 m lift cover the task, and it publishes more operating data for early screening.

Is the KMF 1500P-CB safe for a mixed pedestrian warehouse?

The reviewed pages list obstacle sensing and 360 degree monitoring but name no safety standard, scanner model or loaded stopping distance. Each site must run its own risk assessment; ask KUKA for the ISO 3691-4 declaration and conformity documents.

Sources

  1. https://www.kuka.com/en-us/company/press/news/2026/09/kuka-mobile-forklift-launch
  2. https://www.kuka.com/en-us/products/amr-autonomous-mobile-robotics/autonome-gabelstapler
  3. https://mobile-industrial-robots.com/products/robots/mir1200-pallet-jack/specifications