ROBOTSIDER
Reviews · 2026-09-14 · Robotsider

Roomba Max 875 Combo Review: Specs, Price, Verdict

Roomba Max 875 Combo review: specs, price and evidence on SealForce vacuuming, ThermaMist mopping and iRobot's $1,199.99 US price.

This Roomba Max 875 Combo review finds a promising mixed-floor design, not a proven cleaning winner. iRobot lists 35,000 Pa suction, a heated roller mop and a carpet shield, but its published comparisons use internal baselines and omit full test methods. The $1,199.99 US price therefore needs a home trial, not blind faith.[1][2]

SealForce contains airflow at the carpet, while ThermaMist sprays heated mist ahead of the roller. DriLift then raises and shields that wet roller when the robot detects carpet.[1][2]

This is a documentary review, not a hands-on test. We assessed iRobot's launch release and US product pages for the Max 875 and the cheaper Plus 678. Read how Robotsider handles product evidence and compare the limits of a launch-stage review with our Microduck review.[1][2][3]

Black Roomba Max 875 Combo robot in front of its AutoWash dock
The Max 875 Combo and AutoWash dock. This is a manufacturer image supplied for media use, not a Robotsider test photograph. Source: iRobot, 2 September 2026.[1]

What are the Roomba Max 875 Combo specs?

The Roomba Max 875 Combo pairs a SealForce carpet skirt with 20 L/s airflow, 35,000 Pa suction, 140 F heated mist and a 300 RPM roller. iRobot publishes these specifications. It has not published independent measurements. The product page also contains a 18 N versus 20 N roller-pressure conflict.[1][2]

SealForce is the most interesting part of the vacuum system. iRobot says a skirt lowers against carpet fibers so less airflow escapes around the chassis. The company pairs that seal with 20 liters per second of airflow and a quoted 35,000 Pa of suction.[1]

The headline "3x deeper carpet cleaning" claim compares the machine with SealForce active against carpet vacuuming without SealForce. It is not a comparison with a named competing robot.[1][2]

Hard floor cleaning uses two heated stages. ThermaMist sprays water at 140 degrees Fahrenheit to soften dried spills. The PowerSpin Max roller also uses 140 degree water and turns at 300 RPM.[1][2]

iRobot gives two values for roller pressure. The launch release and main product copy state 18 newtons.[1][2] The product page FAQ says 20 newtons.[2] Buyers should use the lower figure until iRobot corrects or explains the difference.

*Table summary: Current Max 875 specifications and their evidence limits. Sources: iRobot, retrieved 13 September 2026.[1][2]*

SpecificationPublished valueEvidence status
Vacuum systemSealForce skirt, 20 L/s airflow and 35,000 Pa suction.[1]Manufacturer figures. The cited pages give no independent pickup test.
Mopping system140 F heated mist and heated water, 300 RPM roller.[1][2]Manufacturer figures.
Roller pressure18 N in the release and main product copy; 20 N in the FAQ.[1][2]First party conflict.
Edge reachMop roller extends up to 45 mm.[1][2]Manufacturer maximum.
Carpet handlingDriLift raises the mop and lowers a protective shield.[1][2]Manufacturer description. No wet carpet test is published.
NavigationDual line lidar plus camera based object recognition.[1][2]iRobot claims recognition of more than 300 common objects.[1]
Threshold claimUp to 3.5 cm.[1][2]Manufacturer maximum without a published shape or surface protocol.
Robot size14.17 by 14.02 by 3.93 inches; 12.01 lb.[2]Current US product listing.
Battery5000 mAh NCM.[2]Capacity is listed, but runtime is not.
US price$1,199.99.[2]Store price retrieved 13 September 2026.

Our view: SealForce and DriLift address real transition points between carpet and hard floor. The missing pickup, stain and rug moisture results stop the mechanism from proving the outcome.[1][2]

Does SealForce justify the flagship price?

SealForce gives the Roomba Max 875 Combo a plausible reason for its flagship price because it targets airflow leakage at the carpet. It does not prove superior pickup against other robot vacuums. iRobot's three-times claim compares cleaning with SealForce against cleaning without SealForce, not a named competitor.[1][2]

The seal is more useful than the raw pressure number. Suction measured at a test point does not state how much debris a complete robot removes from a particular carpet. SealForce tries to control the path taken by the airflow, which is a direct response to leakage around the cleaning head.[1]

iRobot claims three times deeper carpet cleaning with the seal than without it.[1][2] That narrow baseline explains the comparison. It does not show how the Max 875 fares against another flagship vacuum.

The same caution applies to mopping. iRobot says ThermaMist doubles stain removal against mopping without ThermaMist. It says the roller scrubs 3.75 times deeper than the Max 775 roller.[1][2]

The cited pages omit the stain recipe and floor material. They also omit the scoring method and number of test runs.[1][2]

DriLift may be the better reason to shortlist this model. The robot detects carpet, raises the roller and lowers a shield over it.[1][2]

That design physically separates the damp roller from the rug. The cited pages do not publish a carpet moisture test, so the result still needs checking in the buyer's home.[1][2]

What does the AutoWash dock handle?

The Roomba Max 875 Combo's AutoWash dock empties dry debris, washes the roller at 176 F, dries it with 131 F air, dispenses concentrate and refills the robot. iRobot estimates up to 90 days of debris collection. Owners still need to clean the dock and replace listed parts regularly.[1][2]

The dock empties dry debris into a carbon filter bag, washes the roller with water at 176 degrees Fahrenheit and dries it with air at 131 degrees. It also mixes iRobot's cleaning concentrate with clean water and refills the robot.[1][2]

iRobot says the bag can support up to 90 days of debris collection.[1][2] That is an estimate, not a fixed timetable. Household size, pets and dirt load will change it.

Owners still have chores. iRobot tells them to wipe the bin, rinse the dock tanks and clean contacts and brushes. It recommends replacing the filter, brushes and mop roller every three to six months.[2]

The box includes an extra carbon bag and carbon filter.[2]

It also includes an extra side brush and 280 ml of StayClean solution.[2]

iRobot does not state annual consumables cost on the cited Max 875 page.[2]

Roomba Max 875 vs Plus 678

The Roomba Max 875 Combo costs $300 more than the Roomba Plus 678 Combo in iRobot's US store. Both list SealForce and AutoWash docks, while the Max adds 5,000 Pa of quoted suction, 2 L/s of airflow, ThermaMist and a shielded roller for carpet transitions.[1][2][3]

The Plus 678 is the obvious alternative inside the new lineup. It costs $899.99, which is $300 less than the Max 875 store price.[2][3]

Both robots use SealForce, Dual Line lidar and camera based object recognition.[1][2][3]

Each has a 45 mm extending roller and the same listed dock temperatures.[1][2][3]

The Max 875 raises suction from 30,000 to 35,000 Pa. Airflow rises from 18 to 20 liters per second.[1][3]

Their mopping systems differ more. The Plus 678 sprays a concentrated, high pressure stream before a roller that applies 15 newtons. The Max 875 uses continuous ultrasonic heated mist and a larger roller quoted at 18 newtons in the main product copy.[1][2][3]

*Table summary: The Max 875 adds vacuum output, heated mist and a roller shield for $300 more. Sources: iRobot, retrieved 13 September 2026.[1][2][3]*

Decision pointRoomba Max 875 ComboRoomba Plus 678 Combo
US price$1,199.99.[2]$899.99.[3]
Suction and airflow35,000 Pa and 20 L/s.[1]30,000 Pa and 18 L/s.[1][3]
Stain pretreatmentContinuous 140 F ultrasonic heated mist.[1][2]40,000 Pa concentrated spray.[1][3]
Roller300 RPM PowerSpin Max, 18 N in the main specification.[1][2]PowerSpin roller with 15 N.[1][3]
Carpet protectionRaises the roller and lowers a protective shield.[1][2]Lifts the roller by 10 mm.[1][3]
Robot profile3.93 inches.[2]3.9 inches.[3]
Battery listing5000 mAh NCM.[2]6000 mAh LFP.[3]
Dock176 F wash, 131 F dry, solution dispensing and bag emptying.[1][2]Same listed temperatures and core functions.[1][3]

Choose the Max 875 when carpet transitions and dried spills matter enough to test DriLift and ThermaMist at home.[1][2]

Choose the Plus 678 when $300 matters more than the shielded roller and the extra quoted suction.[2][3]

Neither product page gives a runtime figure.[2][3]

The larger capacity printed for the Plus 678 battery does not prove longer cleaning time because the robots use different hardware and battery chemistry.[2][3]

Evidence scorecard

The evidence scorecard gives more weight to the Roomba Max 875 Combo's published capability claims than its cleaning proof. iRobot documents mechanisms and specifications, but the reviewed launch and product pages do not provide independent pickup, stain-removal, obstacle or carpet-moisture tests. Treat the scores as evidence quality, not product results.[1][2]

Capability and specs7/10 [1][2]
Cleaning test evidence3/10 [1][2]
Reliability and serviceability4/10 [2]
Carpet safeguard evidence4/10 [1][2]
Price and recurring cost clarity5/10 [2]
Navigation and controls6/10 [1][2]

*These are Robotsider editorial evidence scores, not product test results. The low test score reflects manufacturer comparisons without a full protocol or independent Max 875 benchmark. Sources: iRobot, retrieved 13 September 2026.[1][2]*

Pros

  • SealForce changes the airflow path instead of relying only on a larger suction number.[1]
  • DriLift raises and shields the damp roller when the robot detects carpet.[1][2]
  • The dock washes and dries the roller, refills liquid and empties dry debris.[1][2]

Cons

  • The cited pages give no independent carpet pickup, stain removal or obstacle test result.[1][2]
  • iRobot's main copy and FAQ disagree on whether roller pressure is 18 or 20 newtons.[1][2]
  • Runtime and annual consumables cost are absent from the cited product page.[2]

Is the Roomba Max 875 Combo worth buying?

The Roomba Max 875 Combo is worth shortlisting for mixed-floor homes where a wet roller meeting rugs is the main concern. SealForce and DriLift have a clear mechanical purpose, but iRobot's published evidence does not yet establish an upgrade over competing flagships. Use the 60-day home trial to test it on your floors.[1][2]

It is not yet an evidence based upgrade for everyone. The three times carpet claim tests SealForce against no SealForce. The stain claims use selected internal baselines, and iRobot does not publish the complete methods on the reviewed pages.[1][2]

At $1,199.99, use iRobot's advertised 60 day home trial to run a repeatable check on your own floors.[2]

We would test the same measured debris on carpet and the same dried spill on tile. Place a light colored towel beneath the roller after five rug transitions.

Check whether the robot reaches under the lowest furniture too. Its listed height is 3.93 inches.[2]

Return it if the extra $300 over the Plus 678 does not produce a visible benefit in those jobs.[2][3] No pressure figure can make that decision for your floor.

Roomba Max 875 Combo questions

Is the Roomba Max 875 Combo worth $1,199.99?

The Roomba Max 875 Combo is worth shortlisting when mixed floors, dried spills and keeping wet rollers off rugs are priorities. iRobot's claims and internal baselines are its only published evidence. Buyers should use the 60-day home trial to compare results on their own floors.[1][2]

What is the difference between the Roomba Max 875 Combo and Plus 678 Combo?

iRobot lists the Max 875 at $1,199.99 and the Plus 678 at $899.99. The Max lists 35,000 Pa suction and 20 L/s airflow. It also adds ThermaMist heated mist and a DriLift roller shield; both list SealForce and AutoWash docks.[1][2][3]

Does the Roomba Max 875 Combo keep carpets dry?

iRobot says DriLift detects carpet, raises the roller and lowers a protective shield over it. The reviewed pages do not publish a carpet-moisture test. Buyers should check that claim during the home trial.[1][2]

Sources

[1] https://media.irobot.com/2026-09-02-iRobot-Redefines-Hands-Free-Cleaning-with-its-Most-Powerful-Robot-Ever,-the-Roomba-R-Max-875-Combo [2] https://www.irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-875-combo-robot-plus-autowash-dock/Z185020.html [3] https://www.irobot.com/en_US/roomba-plus-678-combo-robot-plus-autowash-dock/V185020.html

Sources

  1. https://media.irobot.com/2026-09-02-iRobot-Redefines-Hands-Free-Cleaning-with-its-Most-Powerful-Robot-Ever,-the-Roomba-R-Max-875-Combo
  2. https://www.irobot.com/en_US/roomba-max-875-combo-robot-plus-autowash-dock/Z185020.html
  3. https://www.irobot.com/en_US/roomba-plus-678-combo-robot-plus-autowash-dock/V185020.html